Home Depot Comments All Reviews

The Home Depot is the largest home improvement retailer in the United States, ahead of rival Lowe's, and the second-largest general retailer in the United States, behind only Wal-Mart.

Submit Your Free Complaint, Question Or Review To A Business



Home Depot Comments


no1gene says: (2 years ago)
 0
1/23/15
This is as much a FYI as it is a complaint.
Three days ago I brought my (1 of 4) identical Fabricated Project Parts to the La Habra, Ca H.D. that I needed a part for.
I used their self check-out and in the process the "cashier" started to process my check whilst being interrupted by two other NON PATRONS.
She took my check, left me standing, then a after my wait for her "More" important personal dialog she completed my purchase.
The problem then was I was soo PI$$ED-OFF that I took my parts but left the Cart with my Project Fabricated Part there.
I went home and when I discovered my Mistreak, immediately returned to H.D. (W/One of the remaining Identical Parts) to retrieve my Fab'd Project 1st from Customer Service, they didn't have it.
Then to Self check-out, a different cashier didn't have it.
Called for a Manager and (NOW the FYI!) He revealed H.D. TRASHESSES anything left in their Store.
SOOO; Don't inadvertently leave ANYTHING at HOME DEPOT, They Have No Customer Friendly Policy for Saving anything you may accidently leave there, in fact it seem that they immediately Trash whatever was left there.
And that "Manager" informed me they did not have a place to store such items?
VENT OVER, Watch Your SIX at H.D., gene



unappreciated says: (2 years ago)
 0
Home Depot has always been great until they stopped honoring the military discount for all products like they used. Fortunately fou us there is a Lowe's behind this store, who does honor the discounts. Lowe's is now our go to store!



Whovian says: (2 years ago)
 0
I ordered a basic garage door 9X7 feet back on October 7, 2014 and was told the installation would be in 3 weeks after the door space was measured by the installer. The installer was in and more than 3 weeks went by. I called the local Home Depot and was told it was more like 4 weeks and would be installed closer to Christmas. We both laughed and she said closer to Thanksgiving. Well two more phone calls and a visit to the Home Depot I finally got a call to schedule the installation and now it's scheduled the earliest for early JANUARY. I store firewood in the garage for the winter and I need to keep the space empty for the installation.

Why should a simple garage door installation take more than 3 months when I was told and promised 3 weeks.



Masshole says: (4 years ago)
 0
How do they justify charging $8.00 for a qt of mineral spirits and $16 for a gal
ie The Assoc. didn't know what it was and the customer rep. didn't understand the complaint.
The company's policy: use cheap labor and try to fleese a customer



Bamawife says: (4 years ago)
 0
We bought a brand new high end microwave from Home Dept online and paid an extra $100 to have it INSTALLED above the oven in place of the range hood. They had no problem getting all our payment and making it very clear when THEY were available for the installation. I took off work, cleared everything off my counters and inside my upper cabinets and when "Home Depot" arrived, it turned out to be some local delivery boy from a place I had never even heard of. Our house is barely a year old. Contractors built hundreds of new homes after an F5 tornado destroyed much of the city last year, so the house we moved into a month ago is all brand new beautiful wiring, all hardwired and ready for any kitchen appliances we put in. We had somebody else install a new washer and dryer in about ten minutes who told us he hasn't seen such well-organized professional wiring like this in a long time! The delivery boy looked at our outlet, which had a closed switchcover plate on it, and said they don't install "hardwired" appliances. We now need to call an electrician, have them install a new box, then we can call Home Depot back and they can return and install the microwave. We were told when we bought it that the "professionals" could install ANYTHING. The HD manager said if we bought it in the store, they would have told us in person what we needed in our house. Yeah, I bet! The in store guys are even worse--they don't know anything and would say ANYTHING to make that sale. This happened TODAY! Now I'm getting the run-around about our delivery fee we paid, trying to find an electrician on a Friday afternoon who can't get here until Monday, I've got a huge microwave in a box in the middle of the kitchen floor, and all my plates and dishware and glasses are stacked up on the dining room table for the rest of the weekend! All we wanted was some microwave popcorn and thanks to the idiots at Home Depot, we have a huge mess, a HUGE expense, and a nice microwave that keeps getting more and more expensive! We will never shop Home Depot again!



Robocook says: (4 years ago)
 0
I want to let you know about an exceptional employee. His name is Richard. Very pleasant, polite and also important - he knew where I could find some very obscure items. He works at the Brockton, Ma store. I cannot say enough good things about him. You are very lucky to have him as an employee!



tulare says: (4 years ago)
 0
Don't trust what the people on the phone tell you. They must see a different list than you and I, or the people the put in the stores. Was told they have an item, then they store says they dont, but they do have similar but more expensive. Call back the support people and they toss a whole new story. If you have to go to home depot, and I advise against it if at all possible, while you are walking around trying to find what you need, they will provide an employee to keep you company. Employees dont know where anything is either, but the company going from aisle to aisle is nice. The less competition there is, the worse home depot gets. avoid it at all costs, they will rip you if your guard is down.



kkaannee says: (5 years ago)
 0
Hello People, I am looking to stage a protest in front of a home Depo store . Who's in.......... Please e-mail me @ jc776@comcast.net



nessuno says: (5 years ago)
 0
Home depot sells to much junk made in china all tools ,hardwear.electrical nothing is made in usa



cicchelli says: (5 years ago)
 0
Never use Homedepot... their service sucks and they are expensive by the way.
I live in New York and they sent me a company called Preferred Contractors from New Jersey run by a guy call Frank Grieco... nice guy but my kitchen isn't finished even I paid it 10 months ago. I had to not let them work anymore and have a couple of bosses from Homedepot to come and see the terrible work they've done. still 40 days after that I'm still waiting for answer and calls... and basically been treated properly as a good paying costumer.
I will never use them again and never recommend them for anything at all. This people are hopeless.
Carlos Cicchelli, New York City



flemish5 says: (5 years ago)
 0
Flemish 5 says Sept. 19, 2011 at appox. 2:30pm

I was in San Marcos, CA. and it was hot and the first place I saw with shade was in back of the Home Depot store. As I drove into the back I did not notice any signs saying no parking or stay out of this area. I did notice signs on the doors that said stay clear swinging doors. I did notice ther was yellow post on each side of every door opening. I was clearly away from any door opening. I was resting for about 10 minutes and a lady came up to me and said that the security will be making its rounds and they would not be happy with me being here. I did not know who this lady was and she was not in any home depot attire or apron, so I just told my self if the security does come I will move. In about 10 more minutes this guy comes up to my window and yells at me, and tells me I had 30 seconds to move my car or he was going to call the police. I told him call the police, I said I did not see any signs that say no parking or do not enter this area. Then he yelled at me again and said it was up on a pole near a bunch of pallets and outside displays. I am sorry but if you want someone to see the signs, make them more visable or put them on the walls of the building. I told him I did not need to see the sign. Then for the third time he yelled at me again and said I was told three times to move. This guy was a donkies behind. I told him that he was just that and the lady that had told me in the first place never introduce who she was and she did not have any home depot attire on. And then I told him that he was only the second person who ordered me to move. Then he said lets start over. I said that would be a good idea. He said that I was not suppose to be back here and that I needed to move. I said ok. I watch as he went in back of my car and started writing something down, probably my lisense plate number. All this guy or the lady needed to do is be a little more pleasant. I felt like I was treated like a bum or a teenager in trouble, I am 52 years old. This guy is lucky I was not a lose cannon or some mental case or he may have gotten his donkies behind kicked, hard. I just want to write this and hope someone takes head to what happened. To many times people jump to conclusions and it will work against them. I was in the wrong for being there, although it did not deserve the turn of events that took place. I do not wish to ever shop at home depot again and I will tell this story to many people I know. What is the formula for loosing customers, 2 percent die, 10 percent find a better price, 86 percent are lost because they had a bad experience. We are in troubled times and it does not seem like it will get economically better any time soon. There are plenty of other stores like home depot to shop at. Maybe this guy had a chronic pain, I do not know what it was, but maybe as big as home depot is they need to have lessons on how to treat this type of situation. And why did home depot pull all there HR employees out of the stores?



sacornel says: (6 years ago)
 0
I ordered a garage opener from HD and the guy they sent out was fantastic. I've had one bad experience in the past so it's only fair to give them a positive review when it's deserved.



sacornel says: (6 years ago)
 0
I paid for HD to measure for a new exterior door. Their staff said I could keep the measurements if I decided not to use their installation services.

The installer showed up early (when I wasn't home) to measure the door, but he measured for a security door instead. I went back to HD for my money back because they didn't measure for the proper door. HD gave me the run-around and didn't refund my money until the next day. HD also said that they DON'T provide you with the measurements. I find it ridiculous that I paid someone to measure a door (even if it was the wrong one) and I don't get the measurements.

I found a contractor that will install the door for 100 less than HD. Never again will I use their services.



Clarias says: (6 years ago)
 0
I went to the Home Depot in Red Bluff CA to buy a small metal storage unit. Small though it was it was very heavy. I asked for help 3 times to load it on a dolly from a shelf but no one came. I wheeled it up to the front and payed for it. I asked for help to load it into my truck. Three more times I was told someone was on the way. No one came. I finally told the ladies at the checkout counter that I would wait by my truck. It was parked right in front of the store. After another 30 minutes and two more assurances that someone was on the way I had to load it on the truck myself. I spend two days layed up with a sore back because Home Depot would not help me.



neithat says: (7 years ago)
 0
I would like to start out with the fact that I am talking about a corporate account, well three of them actually. We have three corporate accounts, and we spend close to $40,000.00 per year per account. We recently chose to close all three due to horrible customer service. We bought a refrigerator with icemaker. It was delivered, but no one would hook up the icemaker. Not a problem we did. Did I mention we have hooked up icemakers several times? Would not produce any ice, we tested the line, not a problem with water flow. We called our store in Gainesville TX who referred us to GE. They sent a repairman who could not fix the problem and they replaced the refrigerator within a few days. Brought us same model and again icemaker would not produce ice. We assume it is a defect with that particular model so we decide to upgrade. I was treated very poorly by Top Sales Rep. He told me that it was due to the water pressure in the lines and I needed to test the lines. At this point we have done this several times. We were also told that the refrigerator needed to be at least 12 inches from the wall in the back. I was told that I would have to pay in full for the new refrigerator before they ordered it and would have to wait until it came in to get the credit on the defective refrigerator. I had already been preapproved by a manager to simply come pick out the replacement model. This is after I left a minimum of 5 messages with the Top Sales Rep to give the salesman who sold us the first one and who was helpful in getting it exchanged. Needless to say I never heard from the original sales rep. My boss called and was told she would receive call back within minutes. They did not call us back so 30 minutes later she called them to cancel the order, we would buy one from a mom and pop store in town. Next morning we get a call from Home Depot demanding to know when they could pick up the refrigerator, at this point we had not been credited. The rep was rude to my boss and demanded that she come in to get the credit. My boss explained that was not a good idea due to the fact that this had made her pretty angry and she did not want to take it out on them. Needless to say, we talked to someone online and called corporate. We had 4 different managers call us and try to give us either the upgrade free or a free refrigerator. We did not want to get something for free. We wanted to be treated with respect and that is something that did not happen. We simply chose to do business with someone besides Home Depot and have since eliminated our accounts. The mom and pop store where we bought our replacement brought us out a similar model by Maytag and hooked up everything. We have already gotten more ice in one day than we did in a week with the two from Home Depot.



Byebyelove says: (7 years ago)
 -1
Everyone of you customers that come in home depot to belittle the employees or to even complain about the smallest things or to even act as if you knew how it is to be in our shoes. Some of you come in disrespecting us, and demanding good customer service after the fact. You go online complaining then costing people their jobs, cause you didn't get the respect that you demanded. I feel bad for all the employees who work this company, and put up with disrespectfull and ungrateful customers. I won't be surprise if one employee goes physco and starts shooting you customers cause all you wan to do is complain. So write down your complaints but don't be surprised if someone will go mad.



eoanna says: (7 years ago)
 0
i purchased a vanity with a marble top at the home depot on hanley road in st louis, missouri-when i got it home and checked it, the top was cracked--i called the store on friday night at 8:00pm and talked to a manager whose name is renato--he was very pleasant and told me to bring it in to exchange--when i explained that i was a senior and that was difficult for me, he said that he would get an exchanger to our house--the next morning, sat, he himself came to take care of it--he is terrific, a real asset for home depot



Pitts says: (7 years ago)
 0
I am renovating a house in Delaware but am at home in St. Petersburg Florida for the winter.
Betty Gold at the 22nd Ave store has been so helpful, she writes sku # and product discriptions for my DE.contractor. She always does it with a smile and say's now if that does not work come back and we will work out something else. She is knowledgable and an asset to your company.



newmanre says: (7 years ago)
 0
Dover NJ Home Depot Needs People Skills Training in Customer Service:

Here is a letter I sent into home depot via the online method...

I would like to launch a complaint about the store in Dover, NJ. (Rockaway Area) A few weeks ago I had gone into the store to purchase custom closet doors for my bf. Because of how long we waited they knocked 50$ off of the price. The day before yesterday we found out by calling the store that the doors were discontinued. So last night we went to the store to get the money back for the doors. We were greeted by an aggressive woman who had no business working in customer service as she did not want to help customers. Finally a person above her made her help us. She was grumpy and failed to mention that if she was crediting my debit card back it could hold up the money being put back onto my card by 48 hours to two weeks. This morning when I called she was not happy to hear back from me. I had gone into my bank account and noticed the money had not been credited back to my bank account. While I had purchased the doors etc under my bf's name we ran it all through my credit card. When I started asking her questions about it she was short and rude. She stated she would be looking into it and not realizing she hadn't hung up the phone said "What the hell is this lady's problem" in a nasty tone. I called the store back and did not receive much extra help in resolving this issue. I tried to speak with a manager named Dan on the phone who while sympathetic was trying to put blame on me for not asking how long it would take for the money to come into my account. So now, my money is tied up, I can't get what I had started out to, and they didn't care how this was an inconvenience. We have been spending money there non stop lately as we are doing a lot of work on the house. Please help me learn what can be done to solve this. Its christmas time and I'm out money that I need because of your people. I'm also insulted and can't believe how people who are in customer service supposed to represent your company treat people.



homedepot100 says: (7 years ago)
 0
h



shadowboxer1 says: (8 years ago)
 -1
This morning my wife and I visited your Wintson Churchill, Milton location looking for three things: hiding screen door for our patio doors, hardwood flooring, and project ideas for storing computer books. We entered the area displaying patio doors where a woman in Home Depot garb was on the phone. We waited looking at some merchandise she then finishedhercall and proceeded to ignore us. I then went overto her and explained our needs regarding a scrren door she then led us to the area concerned handed my wife a brochure and proceded to talk onlydirectly to my wife, who, at this point hadn't even asked her any questions. I feel that this woman maybe is taking her feminist roots to an extreme and I then left your store and went to where I was immediately addressed by a sales person I made mypurchases and left without incident. There gain of a customer your loss. Maybe you should teach your employees customer relations



cycle3man says: (8 years ago)
 0
To the management of the Westbury NY Store: I found floor man John to be very patient, polite, and helpful in helping me solve a number of problems.



cycle3man says: (8 years ago)
 0
To the management of the Westbury NY Store: I found floor man Andres to be very patient, polite, and helpful in helping me solve a number of problems.



kaziovc says: (8 years ago)
 0
bought a garage door with installation. instead of the fancy trim I asked for the door lock which was included in the price. no one knows anything about the lock. cannot get anyone to come back. this is a high crime area and there are many tools in this garage with no lock. I want the door removed so I can buy from a company that will provide what they wrote on the contract.



aquino says: (8 years ago)
 0
I had hurracane shutters installed thrue home depot ,I was never told there was a dead line to subbmit to my safe florida home so that i would get $3400.00 back from my safe fl. home .I never got nothing back.to top it off i was told it would go into home depot credit card interest free for a year,instead they gave me 6 months im still fighting. be aware



brother says: (8 years ago)
 0
your guy "Armando" is a total rude person. Not only to me but to people on the phone. Home Depot Flagstaff AZ I will never go back because of this guy.



romero89 says: (8 years ago)
 0
today i went to the home depot in lewisville, texas. I was help by "Mercy", i had the best help with everything that i needed. "Mercy"-that is the lady's name that help me on everything-she was really nice, polite, and help me understand everything that i didn't understand without gettin mad at me-she was really patient. "Mercy" works at the store in Lewisville, Texas-she did a wanderful job helping me out. Thank you Mercy.



ohioguy621 says: (8 years ago)
 0
Not Enough Help in Store



ohioguy621 says: (8 years ago)
 0
Not Enough Help in Store......gheeze



ohioguy621 says: (8 years ago)
 0
I think Home Depot does not have enough people working in the stores. I'm always looking for someone to come help me and takes me average of about 10 minutes until I find a guy that's not busy. Usually I have to hunt somebody down to help me. Isn't it supposed to be the other way around? Never shop in Akron or Canton, Ohio's Home Depots. I do not like Home Depot anymore because of their customer help inside the stores is louzy.





Post a comment for Home Depot

login with Facebook and share your reviews

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team